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Common Misconceptions About 
Senior Housing
The purpose of this article is to highlight some common 
misunderstandings among the general public, including some 
subdividers, regarding senior citizen housing developments 
(i.e., “55+” housing). As a real estate licensee, you may come 
across one or more of these misunderstandings in connection 
with your representation of a buyer or seller of a home in this 
type of an age-restricted (or senior) community.

By way of background, both federal and state laws generally 
prohibit housing discrimination on the basis of age and 
other distinguishing characteristics such as gender, race, and 
religion; this body of law in California is referred to as the 
Unruh Act. However, both federal and state laws do allow 
for the creation and marketing of homes exclusively for older 
persons in certain communities generally referred to as “senior 
housing” or “senior citizen housing developments.” (The 
marketing term that may be used by subdividers is “active-
adult” or “lifestyle” communities [the use of the term “adult” 
in characterizing these developments is discouraged at the 
federal level]). In California, the law requires that at least one 
of the occupants of a home in these communities must be a 
“Qualifying Resident” or “Senior Citizen,” i.e., a person who 
is 55 years of age or older. However, there is more to the law 
than simply this and, as the law can be complex, the following 
misunderstandings may arise:

 

You must be at least 55 years old to buy a home  
   in the community.

The law does not care who buys the home or who is on title. 
The law is only concerned with who resides in the home. This 
means that the children or grandchildren of a 55+ parent or 
grandparent can buy the home (and be solely listed on the 
recorded deed) as long as the 55+ parent or grandparent, or 
other age-qualified individual, is the actual person who resides 
in the home.

 

Every person who resides in the home must   
   be at least 55 years old.

California law allows other persons to permanently reside 
in the home (other than mobile homes [see below]) who are 
younger than 55 years old; each of these younger persons 
is called a “Qualified Permanent Resident” or “QPR.” For 
example, the spouse or cohabitant of the 55+ Qualifying 
Resident can be younger than 55 years old. Also, a younger 
person who occupies a room in a home (such as a friend, other 
relative, or someone who is renting a room) can reside in the 
home as long as that younger person is at least 45 and at least 
one 55+ Qualifying Resident also resides there.

 

If the spouse or cohabitant is younger   
   than 55 years old then they must be at least  
   45 years of age to reside in the home.

The spouse or cohabitant can be of any age. So the thirty-
something-year-old who marries or cohabitates with the 
55+ Qualifying Resident can reside in the home without 
restriction as a QPR.

 

As long as 80 percent of the homes in the   
   community are occupied by at least one   
   person who is 55 years of age or older, then the  
   remaining 20 percent of the homes in the   
   development can be occupied by underage   
   families with children.

There has been much debate regarding whether 20 percent 
of the homes can be a “set aside” for occupancy by underage 

(Continued on page 3)
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occupied homes approaches 20 percent, then the senior 
community may begin to deny occupancies to underage 
persons in order to maintain the federally-mandated 80 
percent senior-occupancy requirement.

A failure to follow both federal and state laws could  
cause a senior community to lose its status as such under 
the law.

Please carefully note that mobile home communities 
are exempt from the Unruh Act provisions in state law 
concerning senior citizen housing developments, but they 
are subject to the senior housing provisions in federal 
law. Accordingly, the foregoing information relating 
to California law does not apply to a mobile home 
community unless it has expressly adopted the provisions 
for senior citizen housing developments as set forth in the 
Unruh Act.

Because the majority of senior communities today are 
55+ housing, this article pertains to this type of housing 
only (as opposed to, for example, housing for persons 
who are 62 years of age or older). Also, this article is not 
intended to cover all provisions of the law applicable 
to 55+ housing including those provisions relating 
to temporary or permanent occupancy by disabled 
nonseniors. Therefore, as always, legal counsel should be 
consulted to confirm those particular provisions of the 
law that apply to a specific senior community where you 
may be representing a buyer or seller. n

C O M M O N M I S C O N C E P T I O N S A B O U T S E N I O R H O U S I N G  (C O N T I N U E D F RO M PAG E 1 )

families with children. When considering the applicable 
federal and state laws together, the answer to this 
question is an emphatic “no.” Federal law requires that 
to qualify as senior housing at least 80 percent of the 
homes must be occupied by at least one person who 
is 55 years of age or older. Next, the preamble to the 
applicable federal regulations on senior housing states, 
“There is no requirement that the remaining 20 percent 
of the occupied units be occupied by persons under the 
age of 55, nor is there a requirement that those units 
be used only for persons where at least one member of 
the household is 55 years of age or older.” Note that 
California law requires that certain underage persons 
be allowed to occupy homes in a senior citizen housing 
development (this does not include homes in mobile 
home communities [see below]). Further note that 
California law makes no reference to an 80 percent 
“minimum floor” or “safe harbor” at all. However, state 
law does provide for preemption by federal law in some 
cases. Accordingly, so as not to endanger the status of 
the community as a senior citizen housing development 
under California law, the 20 percent arising from the 
80/20 provision in federal law should be regarded under 
state law as applying to those homes where the underage 
surviving spouse, cohabitant, or other individual who 
qualifies as a QPR remains in the home after the 55+ 
Qualifying Resident no longer permanently resides 
there rather than as a “set aside” for underage families 
with children. Moreover, if the percentage of nonsenior 
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For the purposes of complying with Business and Professions Code section 10156.2, 
which allows for continued operation upon the proper submittal of a license  
renewal application, the following items are required to be filed (postmarked)  
before midnight of the last day of the period for which a previous license  
was issued:

 1 Appropriate renewal application for license type.

 2 Applicable renewal fee (See RE 206).

 3 Good faith evidence of compliance with continuing  
  education requirements pursuant to Business and Professions  
  Code section 10170. 

Only licensees who submit all three of the above requirements are  
considered an “on-time renewal” and are permitted to continue  
to operate under his or her existing license after its specific  
expiration date, if not previously suspended or revoked, unless  
notified otherwise by the Department of Real Estate.

As always, the Department highly encourages licensees to not  
wait until the last minute to renew. Broker and salesperson licensees  
can use the Department’s eLicensing system to renew their license.  
All licensees may mail in the renewal application package as early as  
90 days prior to the license expiration date. n

What is Considered an On-Time License Renewal Submission?

NAR Changes Ethics Course Requirements 
The National Association of REALTORS® (NAR) recently changed the requirement 
for REALTORS® to complete Code of Ethics training to a biennial requirement (every 
two years). The first biennial cycle began Jan. 1, 2017, and ended Dec. 31, 2018.

Since this change, DRE has received numerous calls from licensees asking if the 
salesperson and broker continuing education (CE) requirements have also changed. The 
answer is no. Licensees have also asked if the NAR Code of Ethics course will count for 
their CE requirements towards renewing their real estate license. Please be advised that 
CE credit will not be given for this type of course unless the specific course has been 
approved by DRE. n

http://www.dre.ca.gov/files/pdf/forms/re206.pdf
https://secure.dre.ca.gov/elicensing/
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(Continued on page 6)

Technology and Supervision in 
the Real Estate Industry 
By Jeff Oboyski, Assistant Commissioner, Enforcement

Increasingly, nearly all industries are relying more heavily 
on new technology to efficiently and effectively transact 
business, and this is certainly the case in real estate, 
where technology continues to reshape the way business 
is conducted. 

Real estate traditionally was considered 
a brick-and-mortar business where 
agents would spend hours in 
their responsible broker’s 
office researching listings 
for potential clients, 
preparing and reviewing 
contracts and 
addendums, or even 
attending regularly 
scheduled office 
meetings with other 
agents to discuss 
real estate trends 
and marketing 
strategies. Agents 
are now able to 
access much of this 
information, as well as 
participate in meetings, 
without stepping foot 
into a real estate office. 
In fact, as a result of having 
digital tools like online listings, 
mobile applications, virtual tours, and 
e-sign documents, licensees and consumers 
alike can view a listing from the comfort of their own 
home, discuss the terms of a contract through electronic 
messages, and get an idea of the value of a home with 
just a few clicks of a button. 

Furthermore, as the use of technology in the real 
estate industry continues to increase, the models used 
by practitioners in the industry to offer services to 

consumers continue to evolve. Recently, we have seen the 
introduction of what has been commonly referred to as 
“virtual brokerages.” Virtual brokerages often describe 
themselves as online, discount brokerages that offer 
low cost or flat fee commissions, as well as innovative 
technologies. It has been suggested that because of 
technological advances offered by virtual brokerages, 
such as cloud-based software applications and office 
environments, there is no longer a need for a physical 
office to conduct business. 

Although there is no statute in the 
real estate law that specifically 

prohibits “virtual brokerages” 
in California, licensees 

who engage in such a 
business model when 

offering real estate 
services should be 
aware they must 
make sure they 
continue to 
comply with all 
the applicable 
real estate laws 
and regulations. 
One of the 

provisions of the 
law, specifically 

Business and 
Professions Code 

section 10162, states 
that every licensed real 

estate broker shall have and 
maintain a definite place of 

business in California that serves as 
his or her office for the transaction of business. 

This is the place where the Department of Real Estate 
can meet with a broker to review documents and 
records, including those maintained electronically, and 
serve a subpoena duces tecum. This “place of business” 
requirement means that a brokerage cannot be fully 
virtual in California.
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T E C H N O LO GY A N D S U P E RV I S I O N I N T H E R E A L E STAT E I N D U ST RY  (C O N T I N U E D F RO M PAG E 5)

Furthermore, the more virtual a business becomes, the greater the scope and 
complexity of a supervisory system of oversight is needed to ensure compliance. 
Commissioner’s Regulation 2725 provides a broker shall exercise reasonable 
supervision over the activities of his or her salespersons and must establish policies, 
procedures, and systems to review, oversee, and manage such activities, and have 
in place a system for monitoring compliance with such policies, rules, procedures 
and systems. With a virtual file/document review system, a broker would need 
to have policies, procedures, and systems that demonstrate how transactions and 
documents and files are to be reviewed remotely. On top of that, a broker would 

then need to demonstrate through documentation that such policies, procedures, and systems are functioning, and 
that specific transactions/files have been reviewed. It is possible to review transactions, documents, and files remotely, 
and document such review and the supervisory instructions/actions that were given.

Please remember that the Department’s highest priority is consumer protection. As industry’s use of technology 
continues to evolve, it is important that licensees continue to comply with the Real Estate Law, including licensed real 
estate brokers having systems in place to ensure proper supervision. Proper supervision is critical whether a broker is 
working within a traditional brick-and-mortar model or under a newly emerging virtual brokerage technology model.  

For more information about the Department of Real Estate, including recent news and alerts, please check out our 
website at www.dre.ca.gov. n 

Now, in 2019, the Department is beginning to see 
a slight increase in the number of complaints about 
mortgage fraud, where loan documents are being 
forged and falsified and being submitted to federal 
financial institutions. Lenders are catching the bad 
loans and reporting the frauds to their appropriate 
regulating agencies, but sometimes only after the 
loans have been sold on the secondary market. The 
Department is also still receiving some complaints 
about scammers who are taking advance fees from 
borrowers for loan modification and foreclosure 
forbearance services; many of these complaints are 
coming from out-of-state consumers, in spite of 

state and federal laws prohibiting such advance 
fees. In the private money industry, the 

Department is receiving complaints related 
to investor interests not being recorded, 

funds being taken and not properly 
invested, and more. 

Caution About Mortgage Fraud
Most of us remember what happened to the world 
economy a little over 10 years ago. We also might 
remember some of the causes leading up to the crash. 
We saw poorly underwritten mortgage loans that 
created opportunities for fraudsters to submit loans 
to federal financial institutions with straw borrowers, 
fake income and employment documents, and more. 
Those bad loans were bundled, securitized, and sold 
on the secondary market. There was 
the resulting mortgage meltdown and 
worldwide recession, when fraudsters 
took advantage of consumers  
through loan modification and 
foreclosure scams. 

(Continued on page 7)

http://www.dre.ca.gov/
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In the spring 2017 edition of the Real Estate Bulletin, 
we highlighted how the Education and Research section 
upholds the Department of Real Estate’s (DRE) mission 
of safeguarding and promoting the public interests in real 
estate matters through licensure, regulation, education, 
and enforcement, by reviewing the reported continuing 
education records of licensees. This is a friendly reminder 
that, pursuant to Commissioner’s Regulation 3013, 
licensees are required to respond to the request for 
continuing education records. 

As part of a licensee’s renewal, continuing education 
courses are certified as completed by the licensee on 
either the Continuing Education Course Verification 
(RE 251) form or through DRE’s eLicensing system. 
As part of this review process, licensees are randomly 
selected and sent a letter requesting that they submit 
copies of the continuing education course completion 
certificates, pursuant to Commissioner’s Regulation 
3013. This regulation provides that the applicant, upon 
request of DRE, must submit certificates of attendance 
or certified copies thereof from sponsors of approved 
offerings to substantiate information provided by the 
applicant. A licensee who fails to provide DRE with 
course completion certificates, as required, may be 
subject to a fine or potential disciplinary action.

This request is compulsory and therefore, it is very 
important for licensees to respond to these letters to 

avoid a possible fine or potential disciplinary action. 
It is suggested that licensees retain copies of all course 
completion certificates for up to five years so they 
can respond quickly if requested by DRE to provide 
substantiation. If certificates are misplaced, licensees 
should contact the course provider for a duplicate 
certificate, as the course provider is required to  
maintain a record of attendance or registration and  
final examination grade of each participant for a period 
of five years. 

As always, the Education and Research section 
recommends that applicants and licensees, when 
searching for education providers, do so through  
DRE’s website to verify course approval status and to 
check for any prior disciplinary action taken against 
course providers. n

The Department takes complaints about fraud very 
seriously, and accordingly conducts investigations 
of real estate law violations by real estate licensees 
and unlicensed persons to pursue disciplinary 
and regulatory action. In addition to our own 
investigations, the Department works with local, state, 
and federal law enforcement to pursue criminal action. 

If you are aware of any real estate or loan fraud, 
please report it to the department at (877) 
373-4542 or file a complaint using the online 
complaint system. Updates on disciplinary 
actions taken against real estate licensees can be 
received through the Department’s RSS feed. n

C AU T I O N A B O U T M O RTG AG E F R AU D  (C O N T I N U E D F RO M PAG E 6)

This is a friendly reminder that, 
pursuant to Commissioner’s 
Regulation 3013, licensees are 
required to respond to the request 
for continuing education records. 

What to Do if You’ve Received a Request for Continuing 
Education Records

https://eocs.dre.ca.gov/
https://eocs.dre.ca.gov/
http://www.dre.ca.gov/RSS.html
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