TITLE 10. INVESTMENT
CHAPTER 6. REAL ESTATE COMMISSIONER

ARTICLE 18.5. Substantial Relationship and Rehabilitation Criteria

Section 2915. Petitions for Removal of License Discipline Information from Department
Internet Posting.

(a) This section establishes the process and standards for a petition by a current
licensee, as defined by section 10011 of the Code, seeking removal of license discipline
information from the Department internet website (“the website”) for license discipline
with an effective date more than ten (10) years prior, pursuant to section 10083.2 of the
Code.

(b) A petitioner must submit the following information before the Department considers
the petition complete:

(1) A list of petitioner’s criminal convictions since the date of the most recent
Department imposed license discipline for which the petitioner seeks removal
from the website, including information on the date of the court action and
identifying the court and jurisdiction of where the conviction occurred.

(A) “Conviction” includes all state, commonwealth, possession, federal,
military, and foreign convictions. “Conviction” includes a verdict of
guilty by judge or jury, a plea of guilty, of nolo contendere, or of no
contest. A petitioner must disclose all convictions whether the plea
or verdict was set aside, the conviction against the petitioner was
dismissed or expunged, or if the petitioner was pardoned.

(B) For the purposes of this petition process, “Conviction” does not
include:

0] Convictions for infractions.

(i) Convictions under section 11357(b), (c), (d), or (e) of the
Health and Safety Code, or under section 11360(b) of the
Health and Safety Code, if more than two years have passed
since the date of the conviction.



(2) A list of all petitioner’s professional license discipline since the date that the
Department imposed the most recent license discipline action for which the petitioner
seeks removal from the website. Disclosed license discipline must include surrender of
a license whether or not an investigation was pending, whether in California or
elsewhere. Each item on this list must include the date of discipline, the license type,
and the jurisdiction in which the discipline was ordered.

(3) Alist of all criminal, civil, or license discipline actions currently pending
against petitioner, including the jurisdiction in which the action is pending.

(4) A signed attestation by the petitioner that petitioner certifies (or declares)
under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information
provided as part of the petition is true and correct.

(c) A petitioner must submit all the following items before the Department considers the
petition complete:

(1) A petitioner must submit the fee amount of $1,275.00 with each petition. This
petition fee is deemed earned by the Department upon receipt and not refundable. A
petitioner may petition concurrently, when eligible, for reinstatement of a license, or for
removal of restrictions from a license, without additional charge. A petitioner may
request removal of more than one eligible discipline action from the website with a
single petition, without additional charge.

(2) A petitioner, or a broker-officer of a corporate petitioner, who resides in
California must submit a completed copy of a Live Scan Service Request, Form RE 237
(Rev. 7/18), hereby incorporated by reference, completed not earlier than 30 days
before the date of submission of the petition to the Department.

(d) Section 10083.2 of the Code requires the petitioner to provide evidence of
rehabilitation to the Commissioner indicating the posting of discipline is no longer
needed to prevent a credible risk to members of the public. A petitioner may provide
with the petition copies of any documentary evidence that supports petitioner’s claims
regarding rehabilitation, including, but not limited to, documentation evidencing
expungement of criminal convictions and documentation of completed restitution, if
applicable.

(e) The criteria for rehabilitation set forth in section 2911 of these Regulations will apply
where a petitioner seeks removal of discipline information from the Department’s
website stemming from a Statement of Issues or where petitioner’s license discipline
stems from an original application for a license. The criteria for rehabilitation set forth in
section 2912 of these Regulations will apply where a petitioner seeks removal of
discipline information from the Department’s website stemming from an Accusation,



surrender of a license, or other discipline actions ordered by the Commissioner except
for a Statement of Issues.

(f) In evaluating a petition, the Commissioner shall take into consideration other
violations that present a credible risk to the members of the public since the posting of
discipline requested for removal. The Commissioner shall consider, when assessing the
credible risk to members of the public utilizing licensed activity by the petitioner, any
evidence gathered from an investigation that reflects on petitioner’s propensity to
honestly and fairly engage in activities requiring a real estate license. For purposes of
this subsection, a “credible risk” may exist if any of the following circumstances apply:

(1) Petitioner is currently registered pursuant to the provisions of section 290 of
the Penal Code.

(2) Petitioner is currently on probation or parole.

(3) Petitioner’s license is currently subject to restrictions, and a concurrent
petition to remove those restrictions is not granted.

(4) There is any professional license discipline on petitioner’'s Department record
that is based on an offense that resulted in harm to a client or other
consumer in a real estate transaction.

(5) Petitioner does not make himself or herself reasonably available for interview
by the Department investigator in the course of the petition investigation.

(6) Petitioner has not reimbursed the Department for payments made from the
Consumer Recovery Account associated with a claim filed wherein the
petitioner was the judgment debtor.

(g) If the Commissioner grants the petition after investigation, the Commissioner will
order removal of the eligible discipline item or items from the licensee’s entry in the
Public License Information feature on the website.

(h) If the Commissioner denies the petition for removal of discipline from the Public
License Information website feature, the petitioner may not submit a new petition for a
minimum of one year from the effective date of the denial.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 10080 and 10083.2, Business and Professions Code.
Reference: Section 10083.2, Business and Professions Code.



